

CRISPIN BLUNT MP Member of Parliament for Reigate

HOUSE OF COMMONS LONDON SW1A 0AA

Sir Jeremy Heywood KCB CVO Head of the Civil Service and Cabinet Secretary 70 Whitehall London SW1A 2AS

10th June 2015

ear Sor Jerery.

I am writing to you on behalf of Members of Parliament representing constituencies around Gatwick Airport, organised into the Gatwick Coordination Group*. We wish to seek your assurance that the Ministers listed below, who have a strong constituency interest in the work of the Airports Commission, will not have any role in determining the Government's response to and decision on the Commission's Final Report and its recommendations regarding options for increasing the UK's airport capacity.

This would be in accordance with the Ministerial Code, in particular Section 6, which states that Ministers must take "particular care to avoid any possible conflict of interest" where decisions might have an impact on their own constituencies. We would be grateful for your assurance that arrangements are in place to fulfil the Code's provision that "Within departments, the Minister should advise their Permanent Secretary and, in the case of junior Ministers, their Secretary of State of the interest and responsibilities should be arranged to avoid any conflict of interest."

The Secretary of State for the Home Department, the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs, the Secretary of State for International Development, the Secretary of State for Northern Ireland and the Chief Secretary to the Treasury all have constituency interests which would, if allowed to play a role in deliberations about the Commission's Report, would impede a UK Government decision being reached in the national interest on the basis of the Commission's work.

We look forward to your response.

love in Bland

Crispin Blunt

Telephone: 020 7219 2254 Fax: 020 7219 3373 Constituency: 01737 222756 e-mail: crispinbluntmp@parliament.uk website: www.blunt4reigate.com



*MP members of the Gatwick Coordination Group:
Crispin Blunt MP - Member of Parliament for Reigate (Chairman);
Sir Paul Beresford MP - Member of Parliament for Mole Valley;
Nusrat Ghani MP - Member of Parliament for Wealden;
Rt Hon Nick Herbert MP - Member of Parliament for Arundel and South Downs;
Jeremy Quin MP - Member of Parliament for Horsham:
Tom Tugendhat MBE MP - Member of Parliament for Crawley;
Rt Hon Sir Nicholas Soames MP - Member of Parliament for Mid Sussex